<div><a class="mobile-navigation-menu-icon-search" href="/link/00b505040c7b4b5a97dae3aae73a8557.aspx">Search</a></div> <div><a id="lnkCart" class="mobile-navigation-menu-icon-cart" href="/cart/index.aspx">Cart</a></div> <div><a class="mobile-navigation-menu-icon-email" href="https://pages.wordfly.com/oldglobe/pages/Subscribe/" target="_blank">Email List</a></div>

Annual Meeting 2019


SAN DIEGO (February 6, 2019)—The Old Globe’s Annual Meeting was held on Monday, February 4 on the Donald and Darlene Shiley Stage in the Old Globe Theatre, part of the Conrad Prebys Theatre Center. Old Globe Board Chair Nicole A. Clay welcomed the members of The Old Globe Board of Directors along with donors, subscribers, and guests, and announced the newly elected Directors serving three-year terms. Globe senior staff members presented highlights of the 2018 fiscal year, and Erna Finci Viterbi Artistic Director Barry Edelstein and Managing Director Timothy J. Shields spoke about the future of the Globe and its place in the San Diego community. Both a welcome reception prior to the meeting and a celebratory gathering following were catered by The Prado at Balboa Park for the Board of Directors and all attendees.

Clay continues in her second year as 2019 Chair of the Board of Directors. The 2019 Executive Committee will consist of Clay (Chair); Ann Davies (Vice Chair, Nominating Chair); George S. Davis (Audit Chair); Paula Powers (Secretary, Development Chair); Sue Sanderson (Finance Chair); Anthony S. Thornley (Treasurer); Terry Atkinson; Stephanie R. Bulger, Ph.D.; Donald L. Cohn (Past Chair, Ex Officio); Peter J. Cooper; Elaine Bennett Darwin (Past Chair, Ex Officio); Pamela A. Farr; Harold W. Fuson, Jr. (Past Chair, Ex Officio); Evelyn Olson Lamden; Jean Shekhter; Karen Tanz; Sheryl White (Past Chair, Ex Officio); Karin Winner; and Vicki L. Zeiger (Immediate Past Chair, Ex Officio).

Clay also announced that the following candidates identified by the Globe’s Nominating Committee were formally elected to serve a three-year term on the Board of Directors: Sean T. Anthony, Jules Arthur, Mark Delfino, Richard Esgate, Ruben Islas, Jacqueline Lewis, David Jay Ohanian, Scott W. Schmid, and Muffy Walker.

Directors returning for an additional three-year term beginning in 2019 include Mary Beth Adderley; Stephanie R. Bulger, Ph.D.; Donald L. Cohn; Peter J. Cooper; Ann Davies; Jo Ann Kilty; Thomas Melody; Dean H. Thompson; Rhona Thompson; Anthony S. Thornley; Jordine Von Wantoch; and Dr. Reneé Wailes.

Directors currently serving a three-year term during 2019 include Ellise Coit; Silvija Devine; Robert Foxworth (Associate Artist); Jack Galloway; Daphne H. Jameson; Sheila Lipinsky; Keven Lippert; Noelle Norton, Ph.D.; Sandra Redman; Karen L. Sedgwick; Michael Taylor; Evelyn Mack Truitt; Debra Turner; Pamela J. Wagner; and Lynne Wheeler. Kim Neapole is serving a second one-year term as Globe Guilders President.

Board members R. Morgan Busalacchi, Stephen P. Embry (Past Finance Chair), Patricia A. Hodgkin, Ann Steck (in memoriam), and Steven J. Stuckey (Past Audit Chair), whose terms of service concluded in 2018, were honored for their outstanding commitment to The Old Globe.

CALENDAR: Familiar (1/26–3/3/2019), Tiny Beautiful Things (2/9–3/10), AXIS: I Love Africa with Piwai in concert (2/9), Globe Guilders’ Celebrating Couture Fashion Show (3/22), Life After (3/22–4/28), They Promised Her the Moon (4/6–5/5), AXIS: Happy Birthday, Mr. Shakespeare! (4/20), AXIS: Manila Disco Fever in Concert (5/9), Ken Ludwig’s The Gods of Comedy (5/11–6/16), What You Are (5/30–6/30), AXIS: San Diego’s Gods of Comedy (6/15), As You Like It (6/16–7/21), AXIS: Make Music San Diego (6/21), The Tale of Despereaux (7/6–8/11), Steve Martin’s The Underpants (7/27–8/25), Romeo and Juliet (8/11–9/15), AXIS: Mexican Independence Day Celebration (9/14), 2019 Globe Gala (9/21), AXIS: Day of the Dead (11/3).

PHOTO EDITORS: Digital images of The Old Globe’s productions are available at www.theoldglobe.org/press-room.

The Tony Award-winning Old Globe is one of the country’s leading professional regional theatres and has stood as San Diego’s flagship arts institution for over 80 years. Under the leadership of Erna Finci Viterbi Artistic Director Barry Edelstein and Managing Director Timothy J. Shields, The Old Globe produces a year-round season of 15 productions of classic, contemporary, and new works on its three Balboa Park stages: the Donald and Darlene Shiley Stage in the 600-seat Old Globe Theatre and the 250-seat Sheryl and Harvey White Theatre, both part of The Old Globe’s Conrad Prebys Theatre Center, and the 605-seat outdoor Lowell Davies Festival Theatre, home of its internationally renowned Shakespeare Festival. More than 250,000 people attend Globe productions annually and participate in the theatre’s artistic and arts engagement programs. Numerous world premieres such as the 2014 Tony Award winner for Best Musical, A Gentleman’s Guide to Love and Murder, Meteor Shower, Bright Star, Allegiance, The Full Monty, Dirty Rotten Scoundrels,and the annual holiday musical Dr. Seuss’s How the Grinch Stole Christmas! have been developed at The Old Globe and have gone on to enjoy highly successful runs on Broadway and at regional theatres across the country.

x x x