<div><a class="mobile-navigation-menu-icon-search" href="/link/00b505040c7b4b5a97dae3aae73a8557.aspx">Search</a></div> <div><a id="lnkCart" class="mobile-navigation-menu-icon-cart" href="/cart/index.aspx">Cart</a></div> <div><a class="mobile-navigation-menu-icon-email" href="https://pages.wordfly.com/oldglobe/pages/Subscribe/" target="_blank">Email List</a></div>

Press Release: Annual Meeting 2018


SAN DIEGO (Feb. 6, 2018)—The Old Globe’s Annual Meeting was held on Monday, February 5 on the Donald and Darlene Shiley Stage in the Old Globe Theatre, part of the Conrad Prebys Theatre Center. After a reception on Copley Plaza, Old Globe Board Chair Vicki L. Zeiger welcomed the members of The Old Globe, Board of Directors, and guests and announced the newly elected Directors serving three-year terms. Globe senior staff members presented highlights of the 2017 fiscal year, and Erna Finci Viterbi Artistic Director Barry Edelstein and Managing Director Timothy J. Shields spoke about the future of the Globe and its place in the San Diego community. The meeting was followed by a dessert reception catered by The Prado Restaurant for the Board of Directors, Ambassadors, and Founders-Level Donors on Copley Plaza.

It was announced that Nicole (Nikki) A. Clay will serve as 2018 Chair of the Board of Directors for a two-year term. The 2018 Executive Committee will consist of Clay (Chair), Vicki L. Zeiger (Immediate Past Chair), Donald L. Cohn (Past Chair, Ex Officio), Elaine Bennett Darwin (Past Chair, Ex Officio), Harold W. Fuson, Jr. (Past Chair, Ex Officio), Ann Davies (Vice Chair, Nominating), Stephen P. Embry (Finance Chair), Paula Powers (Secretary), Steven J. Stuckey (Audit Chair), Karen Tanz (Development Chair), Anthony S. Thornley (Treasurer), Terry Atkinson, Peter J. Cooper, Pamela A. Farr, Jean Shekhter,Sheryl White, and Karin Winner.

Zeiger also announced that the following candidates identified by the Globe’s Nominating Committee were formally elected to serve three-year terms on the Board of Directors: R. Morgan Busalacchi, Ellise Coit, Evelyn Olson Lamden, Kim Neapole (Globe Guilders President, Ex Officio), and Noelle Norton, Ph.D.

Kathryn Hattox, who passed away on April 29, 2017, was named an Emeritus Director, in memoriam. Hattox was acknowledged for her longtime support of the Globe, including her generous contributions to the capital campaign that resulted in the naming of Hattox Hall on the Globe campus.  Also acknowledged was the recent passing of her husband, John Hattox.

Current Board members returning in 2018 for consecutive three-year terms are Terry Atkinson, George S. Davis, Silvija Devine, Sheila Lipinsky, Sandra Redman, Sue Sanderson, Steven J. Stuckey, Debra Turner, Pamela J. Wagner, and Lynne Wheeler.

Board members Valerie Cooper, Angela DeCaro (Immediate Past Globe Guilders President, Ex Officio), Victor P. Galvez, Gloria Rasmussen, and Donald “D.J.” Wilkins, whose terms of service concluded in 2017, were honored for their outstanding commitment to The Old Globe.

The Old Globe’s Board of Directors also includes Mary Beth Adderley, Stephanie R. Bulger, Ph.D., Robert Foxworth (Old Globe Associate Artist), Jack Galloway, Patricia A. Hodgkin, Daphne Jameson, Jo Ann Kilty, Keven Lippert, Thomas Melody, David Jay Ohanian, Karen L. Sedgwick, Ann Steck, Michael Taylor, Dean H. Thompson, Rhona Thompson, Evelyn Mack Truitt, Jordine Von Wantoch, and Reneé Wailes.

CALENDAR: The Importance of Being Earnest (1/27/18–3/4), Uncle Vanya (2/10–3/11), AXIS: Give Love San Diego (2/10), American Mariachi (3/23–4/29), AXIS: Mariachi Reyna (3/31), The Wanderers (4/6–5/6), AXIS: Happy Birthday, Mr. Shakespeare! (4/21), A Thousand Splendid Suns (5/12–6/17), Native Gardens (5/26–6/24), The Tempest (6/17–7/22), Dr. Seuss’s The Lorax (7/2–8/12), Barefoot in the Park (7/28–8/26), Much Ado About Nothing (8/12–9/16), 2018 Globe Gala (9/22).

PHOTO EDITORS: Digital images of The Old Globe’s productions are available at www.theoldglobe.org/press-room.

The Tony Award-winning Old Globe is one of the country’s leading professional regional theatres and has stood as San Diego’s flagship arts institution for over 80 years. Under the leadership of Erna Finci Viterbi Artistic Director Barry Edelstein and Managing Director Timothy J. Shields, The Old Globe produces a year-round season of 15 productions of classic, contemporary, and new works on its three Balboa Park stages: the Donald and Darlene Shiley Stage in the 600-seat Old Globe Theatre and the 250-seat Sheryl and Harvey White Theatre, both part of The Old Globe’s Conrad Prebys Theatre Center, and the 605-seat outdoor Lowell Davies Festival Theatre, home of its internationally renowned Shakespeare Festival. More than 250,000 people attend Globe productions annually and participate in the theatre’s artistic and arts engagement programs. Numerous world premieres such as the 2014 Tony Award winner for Best Musical, A Gentleman’s Guide to Love and Murder, Meteor Shower, Bright Star, Allegiance, The Full Monty, Dirty Rotten Scoundrels, and the annual holiday musical Dr. Seuss’ How the Grinch Stole Christmas! have been developed at The Old Globe and have gone on to enjoy highly successful runs on Broadway and at regional theatres across the country.


x x